Recognition from the ASSJ

Marshall Sklare Award

The ASSJ presents the Marshall Sklare Award to a senior scholar who has made a significant scholarly contribution to the social scientific study of Jewry, primarily through the publication of a body of research in books and articles or of published work related to public policy.

The awardee presents a lecture at the annual Association for Jewish Studies conference, followed by responses from colleagues.  The lecture and responses are subsequently published in Contemporary Jewry.

More than 30 scholars have received the award since its inception. They are:

  • 2023 Bethamie Horowitz (social psychology) and Ira Sheskin (geography)
  • 2022 Debra Renee Kaufman (sociology)
  • 2021 Ariela Keysar (demography) and Barry Kosmin (demography)
  • 2020 Arnold Dashefsky (sociology) and Chaim Waxman (sociology)
  • 2019 Harriet Hartman (sociology)
  • 2018 Arnold M. Eisen (religious studies)
  • 2017 Judit Bokser Liwerant (political science)
  • 2016 Bruce Phillips (sociology)
  • 2015 Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett (performance studies)
  • 2014 Sylvia Barack Fishman (sociology)
  • 2013 Morton Weinfeld (sociology)
  • 2012 Leonard Saxe (social psychology)
  • 2011 Riv-Ellen Prell (anthropology)
  • 2010 Steven M. Cohen(sociology)
  • 2009 Charles Kadushin (social networks)
  • 2008 Paul Ritterband (sociology)
  • 2007 Barry Chiswick (economics)
  • 2006 Deborah Dash Moore (history)
  • 2005 Elihu Katz (communications)
  • 2004 Egon Mayer (sociology)
  • 2003 Samuel Heilman (sociology)
  • 2002 Jonathan Sarna (history)
  • 2001 Calvin Goldscheider (sociology and demography)
  • 2000 Charles Liebman (political science)
  • 1999 Sergio DellaPergola (demography)
  • 1998 Bernard Reisman (communal service)
  • 1997 Walter Zenner (anthropology)
  • 1996 Samuel Klausner (sociology)
  • 1995 Daniel Elazar (political science)
  • 1994 Celia Heller (history)
  • 1993 Seymour Martin Lipset (sociology)
  • 1992 Sidney Goldstein (demography)

Distinguished Early Career Award

The ASSJ Distinguished Early Career Award will be given periodically to a recent PhD (within the past ten years) whose work reflects excellence in the application of social science theories and methods to the study of contemporary Jewry.
  • 2023 Matthew Boxer (sociology)
  • 2022 Ilana Horwitz ( sociology)

Mandell L. Berman Service Award

The ASSJ presents the Mandell L. Berman Service Award periodically to communal, civic and business leaders, applied and academic researchers, and philanthropists, for distinguished commitment to the social scientific study of Jews through service or financial support.

Named in honor of Mandell L. Berman, a major philanthropic supporter of the Association for the Social Scientific Study of Jewry and other communal research entities, the Berman Service Award recognizes those whose efforts have advanced the social scientific study of Jewry.

The Berman Service Awardees are:

  • 2021 Joseph Neubauer and Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer (Neubauer Family Foundation), and Alan Cooperman (Pew Research Center)
  • 2017 Ambassador Stuart E. Eizenstat
  • 2015 Barry Shrage (Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Greater Boston)
  • 2013 Rela Mintz Geffen (Gratz College)
  • 2012 Arnold Dashefsky (University of Connecticut, Sociology)
  • 2011 Irene and Eddie Kaplan (Washington, DC)